

Molten Salt Reactor Workshop 2020 On to Demonstration: The Next Critical Steps Presented Virtually from Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) Sponsored by: Gateway for Accelerated Innovation in Nuclear (GAIN) and ORNL

AGENDA

Agenda as of 10/15/2020

Event contact	General Chair: David Holcomb, 865-898-2193 (mobile); <u>holcombde@ornl.gov</u> Technical Program Chair: Jordan Rader, 918-704-5980 (mobile); <u>raderjd@ornl.gov</u>	
Time	Event	Lead
١	Nednesday, October 14, 2020, Eastern Dayligh	nt Time (UTC-4:00)
8:45–9:00 am	Log on – Open Welcome	
	Opening Plenary I	Session Chair: David Holcomb, ORNL
	Call to Order	David Holcomb, ORNL
	Welcome	Kathy McCarthy, ORNL
9:00–10:00 am	Keynote	
	GAIN Update	Christine King, GAIN
	Office Nuclear Energy Overview on Molten Salt Reactor Support	Alice Caponiti, US Department of Energy Office of Nuclear Energy (DOE-NE)
		Lou Qualls, DOE National Technical Director for Molten Salt Reactors
10:00–10:10 am	Session Transition	
10:10–11:40 am	Morning Session 1: Chemistry	Session Chair: Ted Besmann, University of South Carolina
	Molten Salt Reactor Chemistry: Properties, Database Development, and Modeling	Jake McMurray, ORNL
	Argonne's Molten Salt Property Measurements	Melissa Rose, Argonne National Laboratory (ANL)
	Molten Salt Research at Los Alamos National Laboratory	Marisa Monreal, Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL)
	Molten Salt Research Activities at the Idaho National Laboratory	Toni Karlsson, Idaho National Laboratory (INL)



Event contact	General Chair: David Holcomb, 865-898-2193 (mobile); <u>holcombde@ornl.gov</u> Technical Program Chair: Jordan Rader, 918-704-5980 (mobile); <u>raderjd@ornl.gov</u>	
Time	Event	Lead
v	Vednesday, October 14, 2020, Eastern Dayligh	nt Time (UTC-4:00)
11:40–11:50 am	Session Transition	
	Afternoon Session 1: Materials	Session Chairs: Stephen Raiman, ORNL Bruce Pint, ORNL
	Graphite Materials for Molten Salt Reactors (MSR)	Cristian Contescu, ORNL
11:50 am–1:20 pm	Technical Basis of Surrogate Materials Surveillance for Advanced Reactors	Sam Sham, ANL
	Molten Salt Material Compatibility Research at Argonne National Laboratory	Nathan Hoyt, ANL
	Interactions of Structural Materials with Intentionally or Unintentionally added Impurities in Molten Salt	Preet Singh, Georgia Tech
1:20–1:50 pm	Break	
	Afternoon Session 2: University Updates	Session Chair: Dianne Bull Ezell, ORNL
	Development of a Molten Salt Sampling System Design: Progress To-Date and Path Forward	Megan Harkema, Vanderbilt University
1:50–3:20 pm	MIT Fission and Fusion Salt Activities: From Theory to Integral Experiments	Charles Forsberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
	The ACU Molten Salt Research Reactor	Rusty Towell, Abilene Christian University
	NuSTEM (Nuclear Science, Technology, and Education for Molten salt reactors): Project Overview and Recent Advances	Jean Ragusa, Texas A&M University
3:20–3:30 pm	Session Transition	

Agenda



Agenda

ORNL IS MANAGED BY UT-BATTELLE, LLC FOR THE US DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Event contact	General Chair: David Holcomb, 865-898-2193 (mobile); <u>holcombde@ornl.gov</u> Technical Program Chair: Jordan Rader, 918-704-5980 (mobile); <u>raderjd@ornl.gov</u>	
Time	Event Lead	
3:30–4:40 pm	Afternoon Session 3: Licensing Topics and Approaches	Session Chair: Jordan Rader, ORNL
	Fuel Salt Qualification Method Overview	David Holcomb, ORNL
	MSR Safety Evaluation Considerations	Lou Qualls, ORNL
	Advanced Reactor Licensing	Peter Hastings, Kairos Power
4:40 pm	Adjourn Day 1	

Thursday, October 15, 2020, Eastern Daylight Time (UTC-4:00)		
8:45–9:00 am	Log on – Open Welcome	
9:00–10:30 am	Opening Plenary II	Session Chair: Lauren Lathem, Southern Company
	Call to Order	Lauren Lathem, Southern Company
	Keynote	
	Leveraging Industry Experience to Support MSR Demonstration and Commercial Operation	Cristian Marciulescu, Electric Power Research Institute
	NRC's Preparations for Advanced Reactor Licensing	Wendy Reed, US Nuclear Regulatory Commission
	Nuclear Energy: Today and Tomorrow	Everett Redmond, Nuclear Energy Institute
	Opportunities in Additive Manufacturing for Advanced Nuclear Energy Systems	Kurt Terrani, ORNL
10:30–10:40 am	Session Transition	



Event contact	General Chair: David Holcomb, 865-898-2193 (mobile); <u>holcombde@ornl.gov</u> Technical Program Chair: Jordan Rader, 918-704-5980 (mobile); <u>raderjd@ornl.gov</u>	
Time	Event	Lead
	Thursday, October 15, 2020, Eastern Daylight	Time (UTC-4:00)
	Morning Session 1: International Activities	Session Chair: David Holcomb, ORNL
	Stable Salt Reactors: A New Platform Technology in Nuclear Fission	Ian Scott, MOLTEX Energy
10:40 am–12:10 pm	MSR Activities in GenIV Forum	Stephane Bourg, Generation IV International Forum
	Experimental Program with Hot FLIBE Zone at LR-0 Reactor	Jan Uhlir, Research Centre Rez
	R&D in Euratom projects SAMOFAR and SAMOSAFER	Jan Leen Kloosterman, Delft University of Technology
12:10–12:20 pm	Session Transition	
12:20–1:50 pm	Afternoon Session 1: Chemistry II/ Modeling	Session Chairs: Joanna McFarlane, ORNL
	Developing Technology and Capabilities to solve MSR off-gas Challenges	Kristian Myhre, ORNL
	On-line Monitoring for Molten Salt Reactor Systems	Amanda Lines, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
	Tritium transport phenomena in MSRs	Paul Humrickhouse, INL
	Ab-Initio Molecular Dynamics Simulations of Actinide-Containing Molten Chloride Properties	Dave Andersson, LANL
1:50–2:20 pm	Break	

Agenda



Event contact	General Chair: David Holcomb, 865-898-2193 (mobile); <u>holcombde@ornl.gov</u> Technical Program Chair: Jordan Rader, 918-704-5980 (mobile); <u>raderjd@ornl.gov</u>		
Time	Event	Lead	
	Thursday, October 15, 2020, Eastern Daylight Time (UTC-4:00)		
	Afternoon Session 2: Driven Systems/Fuel Cycle Approaches	Session Chair: Andy Worrall, ORNL	
	Closing the Fuel Cycle with MuSTAR	Rol Johnson, Muons Inc.	
	ThorCon Progress in Indonesia	Lars Jorgensen, ThorCon US	
2:20–4:10 pm	Virginia ADS Consortium—U-233 - Th-232 Breeder Burner Advanced Subcritical Micro Reactor	Ganapati Myneni, Virginia ADS Consortium & BSCE Systems Inc.	
	Making the Right Choices for the First Molten-Salt Power Reactor	Kirk Sorensen, Flibe Energy, Inc.	
	Path Towards a 1MW Demonstration MSR	Aslak Stubsgaard, Copenhagen Atomics	
4:10-4:20 pm	Session Transition		
4:20–5:50 pm	Afternoon Session 3: First Next Reactors	Session Chair: David Holcomb, ORNL	
	Elysium Industries Update	Carl Perez, Elysium Industries USA	
	TerraPower's Molten Chloride Fast Reactor (MCFR) Update	Jeff Latkowski, TerraPower, LLC	
		Dave Hill, Terrestrial Energy, USA	
	IMSR® Commercialization before 2030 Kairos Power Update	Mark Peres, Kairos Power	
5:50 pm	Closeout/Adjourn Workshop	Brian Robinson, DOE-NE	

Agenda