



MANAGED BY UT-BATTELLE LLC FOR THE US DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

## Final Agenda

Event contact	General Chair: Kevin Robb; <u>robbkr@ornl.gov</u> Alternate General Chair: Joanna Mcfarlane; <u>mcfarlanej@ornl.gov</u> Administrative Support: Kendall Hastings; <u>hastingskg@ornl.gov</u>		
	Molten Salt Reactor Work Tuesday, November 5	•	
Time	Event	Speaker(s)	
7:30am – 8:30am	Breakfast (provided) and registration		
8:25am – 8:30am	Call to Order	Kevin Robb, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL)	
8:30am – 8:40am	Welcome	Mickey Wade, ORNL Tracy Boatner, East Tennessee Economic Council	
8:40am – 9:10am	<b>Opening Plenary:</b> Revival of MSRs in the U.S. – Third Millenium Activities	David Holcomb, Idaho National Laboratory	
9:10am – 10:35am	University Advancements	Session Chair: Mark Kimber, Texas A&M University Charles Forsberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Raluca Scarlat, University of California, Berkeley Kevin Clarno, University of Texas at Austin Rusty Towell, Abilene Christian University	
10:35am – 10:50am	Break		
10:50am – 11:30am	Lightning Talk Session 1	Session Organizer: Hunter Andrews, ORNL Sara Thomas, Argonne National Laboratory Hannah Patenaude, Los Alamos National Laboratory Amanda Leong, Virginia Tech Julian Barra, University of Massachusetts Lowell Lorenzo Vergari, University of Illinois Stephen Raiman, University of Michigan	
11:30am – 12:40pm	Working Lunch (provided)	Sponsorship Speaker: Natura Resources	
12:40pm – 2:25pm	National Laboratory Developments	Session Chair: Michael Stoddard, DOE-NE Nathaniel Hoyt, Argonne National Laboratory Toni Karlsson, Idaho National Laboratory Joanna Mcfarlane, ORNL (moved to Wed. lunch) Praveen Thallapally, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Sylvia Saltzstein, Sandia National Laboratories	
2:25pm – 2:30pm	Closing remarks	Kevin Robb, ORNL	
2:30pm	Adjourn		
2:30pm – 6:30pm	Optional bus tour (separate sign ups)		
2:30pm – 4:30pm	Optional Molten Salt Reactor Experiment Virtual Tour	Location: Wiley/Milani room	



## AGENDA

MANAGED BY UT-BATTELLE LLC FOR THE US DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Molten Salt Reactor Workshop 2024 Wednesday, November 6 <sup>th</sup> , 2024		
Time	Event	Speaker(s)
7:30am – 8:30am	Breakfast (provided) and registration	
8:25am – 8:30am	Call to Order	Kevin Robb, ORNL
8:30am – 8:45am	Opening Plenary	Michael Stoddard, DOE-NE
9:00am – 3:10pm	Optional MSRE Virtual Tour	Location: Wiley/Milani room
8:45am – 9:30am	MSR Salt and Graphite	Session Chair: Tony Birri, ORNL Jamie Ownby, MilliporeSigma Rodolfo Vaghetto, Electric Power Research Institute Nidia Gallego, ORNL
9:30am – 10:10am	Lightning Talk Session 2	Session Organizer: Hunter Andrews, ORNL Timothy Hall, Faraday Technology Inc Morgan Fox, Terrestrial Energy Kevin Leaning, LTS LLC Jeff Parish, Flowserve Jim Steppan, HiFunda LLC
10:10am – 10:30am	Break	
10:30am – 11:50am	Nonproliferation Considerations	Session Chair: Karen Hogue, ORNL Steven Biegalski, Georgia Institute of Technology Bego Aranguren, U.S. DOE/NNSA Michael Edmondson, UK National Nuclear Laboratory Karen Koop Hogue, ORNL Panel discussion: John Russell, U.S. NRC; Steve Biegalski; Bego Aranguren; Michael Edmondson
11:50am – 1:10pm	Working Lunch (provided)	Joanna Mcfarlane, ORNL Sponsor tables
1:10pm – 2:45pm	International Perspectives	Session Chair: Patricia Paviet, PNNL Mouna Saoudi, Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Motoyasu Kinoshita, Kyushu University, International Thorium Molten Salt Forum Stefano Lorenzi, Politecnico di Milano Michael Edmondson, UK National Nuclear Laboratory
2:45pm – 3:05pm	Break	
3:05pm – 4:40pm	Off-gas and Waste Forms	Session Chair: Joanna Mcfarlane, ORNL Dan Gregg, Australia's Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation Morgan Kropp, Idaho National Laboratory Randy Ngelale, ORNL Hunter Andrews, ORNL
4:40pm – 7:00pm	Reception & Poster Session	Session Organizer: Richard Reed, ORNL
7:00pm	Adjourn	





MANAGED BY UT-BATTELLE LLC FOR THE US DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Molten Salt Reactor Workshop 2024 Thursday, November 7 <sup>th</sup> , 2024		
Time	Event	Speaker(s)
7:30am – 8:30am	Breakfast (provided) and registration	
8:25am – 8:30am	Call to Order	Kevin Robb, ORNL
8:30am – 8:50am	<b>Opening Plenary:</b> Data Center Bootcamp for Nuclear Reactor Developers	DJ Hanson, Flibe Energy, Inc.
8:50am – 9:25am	Chair's Panel: Experimental practices	Session Organizer: Kevin Robb, ORNL Kevin Robb, ORNL Brian Clarke, Kairos Power Cody Falconer, TerraPower
9:25am – 10:20am	Licensing and Regulatory	Session Chair: Alex Huning, ORNL Brandon Chisholm, Southern Company Michael Muhlheim, ORNL Askin Yigitoglu, ORNL
10:20am – 10:40am	Break	Meritorious Service Recognition Award recipient: David Holcomb
10:40am – 12:10pm	MSR Developer Forum 1	Session Chair: Patricia Paviet, PNNL Aslak Stubsgaard, Copenhagen Atomics DJ Hanson, Flibe Energy, Inc Dane Wilson, ThorCon Thomas Wielenga, Wielenga Innovation Foundation, Inc.
12:10pm – 1:30pm	Working Lunch (provided)	Sponsorship Speaker: MilliporeSigma
1:30pm – 3:00pm	MSR Developer Forum 2	Session Chair: Joanna McFarlane, ORNL Luke Godfrey, MoltexFLEX Timothée Kooyman, NAAREA Andreas Vigand Schofield, Seaborg Technologies Antoine Gerschenfeld, Stellaria
3:00pm – 3:20pm	Break	Student Poster Awards: 1 <sup>st</sup> Logan McIlwain, Virginia Tech 2 <sup>nd</sup> Brian Carpman, The University of Michigan 3 <sup>rd</sup> Alex Macris, The University of Texas at Austin
3:20pm – 4:50pm	MSR Developer Forum 3	Session Chair: David Holcomb, INL Jake McMurray, Kairos Power Jordan Robison, Natura Resources Sam Goodrich, Terrapower Maria Ivanova, Terrestrial Energy
4:50pm – 4:55pm	Closing Remarks	Kevin Robb, ORNL
4:55pm	Adjourn	