Molten Salt Reactor Workshop 2019

WHEN October 2-3, 2019


Sessions included:

  • Updates from MSR developers
  • University-led MSR science and engineering
  • MSR-related activities within US DOE and US NRC
  • International cooperative activities in MSR science, safety, and safeguards
Attendees (PDF)

More information will be provided in the coming weeks.

Got questions?

Contact Us

Previous Workshops

Additional MSR Information

Video: Molten Salt Reactor Experiment

This film was produced in 1969 by Oak Ridge National Laboratory for the United States Atomic Energy Commission to inform the public regarding the history, technology, and milestones of the Molten Salt Reactor Experiment (MSRE). Oak Ridge National Laboratory's Molten Salt Reactor Experiment was designed to assess the viability of liquid fuel reactor technologies for use in commercial power generation. It operated from January 1965 through December 1969, logging more than 13,000 hours at full power during its four-year run. The MSRE was designated a nuclear historic landmark in 1994.

Video: Remote Maintenance of Molten Salt Reactors

Video shows a demonstration of replacing the major components of a molten salt reactor mock-up built by ORNL in the late 1950s - early 1960s using remote handling technology.

Gallery: Workshop 2016

Previous Workshops

Explore workshops from previous years; view pictures and read presentations

MSR 2017 MSR 2016 MSR 2015
ORNL Visitor Informaiton

Visitor Information

Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) hosts thousands of visitors every year. The information below may help make your visit more productive and enjoyable.

Before you arrive Entering ORNL